St Mary Magdalene

Although, regarding religion, I find myself on the bench of the agnostics, I am always awed by the interiors of places of religious worship… whatever the beliefs. I like to enter these buildings to admire the work, the man hours and the creativity that have gone into creating these spaces. This week, I was lucky enough to be given permission to photograph the interior of a Victorian gothic revival church that was once Anglican but was acquired, about 20 years ago, by the Greek Orthodox Church.

It was quite difficult photographing in there as the lighting was so poor and all the shots had to be long exposure. I have been told I can go back sometime which is lucky as this was the first time I had tried photography under these conditions and  I feel I could be better prepared and do a better job next time – now I know what to expect.

Here’s 6 (well, 8 actually) of the best I could manage:

DSC_0048sm
It’s hard to imagine this scene of The Last Supper was carved from one single piece of stone.
The exterior - an architectural feat.
The exterior – an architectural feat.
This stained glass window was designed by Edward Burne-Jones
This stained glass window was designed by Edward Burne-Jones
Special light effect for the religious paintings and artwork
Special light effect for the religious paintings and artwork
The main aisle
The main aisle
Wonderful symmetry - impressive gothic arches
Wonderful symmetry – impressive gothic arches
What a chandelier!
What a chandelier!
No women allowed beyond this point
No women allowed beyond this point
2 thoughts on “St Mary Magdalene

Leave a Reply

