From the darkroom

PICT0101bsmIn my quest to learn all about this photology magic, I have taken a workshop to learn how to use the darkroom. I recently found out that a small charity who have set up a community darkroom in town were holding an introductory workshop for amateurs. I went and since then, I’ve been back a couple of times, on my own to practise what I learned. The results leave a lot to be desired but I want to record here, my first attempts at processing my own film.

To convert the negatives to digital, for the sake of keeping record of what I have (the eyesight is not what it was and those negatives are pretty small) and to blog about it occasionally, and hopefully see some progress, I have treated myself to a little, stand alone negative scanner (Veho VFS-008 Smartfix) which, although the file sizes aren’t very big, is perfect for what I want to do with it.

Here are some of the negatives I then had a go at making prints from. I have to say making prints on 8×10 paper is VERY satisfying. Now, I want to buy a better printer to print off some of my digital images… And so the cost goes on.

4 thoughts on “From the darkroom

Leave a Reply

