Using rehearsals for rehearsing.

Last post, I was saying how I want to shoot… (No, no, no! They’d never let me back into the States if I say that) ‘take pictures of’ more people. Well, yesterday, to warm up, the lovely Heather and her troupe kindly let me shoot them rehearsing a sketch for the local fringe festival. The lighting was terrible and there was an awful lot of noise – I’ve tried to use that in B+W conversion to give the images a bit more atmosphere. Please feel free to comment on how else I could process noisy images – I always appreciate learning something new.

Apologies for huge upload, too difficult to choose the best six.

20 thoughts on “Using rehearsals for rehearsing.

  1. What aperture were you using, Maxine? Only because I found the background distracting….. Personally, I like the first three images and the last one, where you are up close to your subjects and to my mind there is more atmosphere!

    1. Thanks, suej. I was on 4.5 or 5.6 – the lowest my camera would go at the time. And, I agree with you, I like the close ups better but I wanted to show some of the action in scenes too as I shall show these to the person who allowed me to shoot the session. I appreciate, and will bare in mind your valuable comments. Thank you.

      1. It’s always difficult when you’re limited …. I relied on a zoom lens for quite some time before I was too bothered about depth of field, but once I realised how hampered I was for certain types of shot, I went for a couple of prime lenses for situations when the need arises! Hope you didn’t mind my commenting……

  2. I think the shots worked out really well in black and white. I like the idea of capturing people in action like this and not having to get them to pose (I too have an aversion to taking photos of people).

    1. Thanks, Mike. I’d like to do some more of this as it seems a good way to become comfortable with pointing a threatening black box at people and these were so engrossed in getting their lines right, they did forget I was there.

  3. I can see why you couldn’t whittle it down to six, the expressiveness that comes across in this series of images is wonderful, grain or not 🙂

    1. Thank you, Frank. I didn’t have a lot of control over lighting. Firstly, I don’t yet know how to use flash and secondly, it wasn’t the right place for it. I was trying to be as discreet as possible not to distract them from their lines.

  4. I like the graininess of the noise – it gives the images a timeless feel to them. It reminds me of the photos of the early 60’s of behind the scenes of the big bands of the day – if you know what I mean. I do think it was good to provide some wide angle photos to show the whole context of the photos.

  5. Nice selection. Noise is related to ISO so using the lowest ISO possible is important. To do that, maximise the light coming onto the sensor by opening up your aperture and getting closer to the light source (inverse square law), in this case the light coming off your subject.

    You can reduce noise in post processing but you will lose structure, so find a happy medium. If necessary, you might be able to hide the noise by adding grain. Noise and Grain are not the same thing as you would be aware.

    1. Thanks, Lignum. No, I hadn’t done any joined up thinking about noise and grain; I shall have to go and investigate. As for ISO and distance… No, again. Didn’t know that the closer you get, the more light you get from your subject… Not that I could have got closer on that occasion… But I will remember in future. Thank you again, for this valuable info.

Leave a Reply

