Feedback from local camera club comps

As I said, a couple of weeks ago in this post, I’ve joined the local camera club – much to the other halves amusement as he is seriously worrying about my current level of geekiness. I enjoy getting together with people once a fortnight who aren’t going to ridicule me – at least not to my face. And, to get feedback on photos from an independent source outside of the club who doesn’t know who’s photo he is critiquing is proving very interesting – even if I don’t always understand their point of view. Anyway, some I thought might do OK bombed out and others that were tentative did quite well. Baring in mind entries rarely score below 14, here’s the results:

Print competition:

16/20
16/20
20/20
20/20
18/20
18/20
19/20
19/20

Digital Competition:

15/20
15/20
20/20
20/20
19/20
19/20
16/20
16/20

The most interesting thing I learned was to put a white vignette around very dark photos like the girl in white. When this was being shown, she looked minute as the black bled into the surface the photo was being projected onto. And then, the photo of the Jack Russell did spark a debate about whether pets should be entered in the Portrait section. What do you think?

Overall, I think I did very well for a newbie and I’m very happy with the feedback.

15 thoughts on “Feedback from local camera club comps

  1. Wow and congratulations you did extremely well in your first comp. A portrait is a portrait no matter what it is of and I do love your dog.

  2. Wonderful shots. I am not at all surprised that you did so well, though my favorites are not necessarily the ones that scored the highest–I really like the boy with the airplane, for example.

Leave a Reply

