Socio-economic twins

Hastings (my town) and Margate are often, by the media, tarred with the same brush; seaside towns with high levels of socio-economic deprivation and low aspiration. Damn, that makes me cross! I can’t speak for others but I know what I see and I see artistic, creative people, for the most part opting out of the materialistic aspirations that the media continue to ram down the public’s throat and having a jolly good time in a community that comes together often throughout the year. Why are we all expected to be the same and want the same… and it seems to be getting worse. I can’t speak for Margate but it looks as if it has the potential to be home to a diverse, interesting, proactive community.

4 thoughts on “Socio-economic twins

  1. Beautiful photos. I know what you mean. The poorer communities tend to have a better sense of community than rich ones – where they compete with one another as to who has the better car or whatever.

Leave a Reply

